Soloist in residence

Violinist Blake Pouliot has joined the upper echelons of brilliant soloists, establishing himself as a consummate 21st century artist with the rigor and passion to shine for a lifetime. At only 25 years old, the tenacious violinist has been praised by the Toronto Star as “one of those special talents that cornes a long once in a lifetime.”

Highlights of the 2019-2020 season include Pouliot’s debuts with the Atlanta, Asheville, Rochester, Sarasota and Madison symphonies and a collaborative experience as the featured soloist for the first ever tour of the European Union Youth Orchestra and National Youth Orchestra of Canada.

The tremendously successful 2018-2019 season included his debuts with the Detroit, Dallas, Milwaukee, San Francisco, and Seattle symphonies, dazzling audiences. ln September, Pouliot’s debut album featuring the works of Ravel and Debussy was released (Analekta Records), earning a five-star rating from BBC Music Magazine and a 2019 Juno Award nomination for Best Classical Album. Adding to his accolades, Pouliot won both the Career Development Award from the Women’s Club of Toronto and the Virginia Parker Prize from the Canada Arts Council.

As Grand Prize winner of the 2016 Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) Manulife Competition, Pouliot toured across South America du ring the summer of 2017 as soloist with the YOA Orchestra of the Americas. He later returned to Montreal where he was featured in recital at the OSM’s Virée classique. A prolific recitalist and chamber musician, Pouliot has performed in Chicago, Los Angeles, Montreal, and Toronto, and performs at Pepperdine University, the Isabel Bader Center in Kingston, and the Ottawa Chamber Music series in the 2019-2020 season.

Blake Pouliot graduated from the Colburn School Conservatory of Music, where he studied with Robert Lipsett, the Jascha Heifetz Distinguished Violin Chair. He performs on the 1729 Guarneri del Gesù, on generous loan from the Canada Council for the Arts Musical Instrument Bank as First Laureate of both their 2015 and 2018 Competition.

Photo: Jeff Fasano