Chœur Métropolitain

Founded in 1986, the Chœur Métropolitain has been under the artistic direction of Yannick Nézet-Séguin since 2000. François A. Ouimet and Pierre Tourville are the chorus masters for the preparation of various programs and the conducting of certain concerts.

Comprising around 100 members, the Choir joins the Orchestre Métropolitain during its regular seasons to perform the great works of the repertoire. Along with the Orchestre’s musicians under the baton of Yannick Nézet-Séguin, the Choir has delivered memorable performances of Rachmaninoff’s The Bells, Janáček’s Glagolitic Mass, Bruckner’s Mass No. 3 in F minor and Wagner’s operas Lohengrin and Parsifal at the Festival de Lanaudière, Dvořák’s Stabat Mater, Bach’s Saint Matthew Passion, Handel’s Messiah and Verdi’s Requiem. These performances have earned the Choir critical acclaim.

This 2018-2019 season, the Choir performed at the Symphonie de Télé-Québec concert dedicated to the memory of Jacqueline Desmarais, and in the Singing as One concert on December 23. It will wrap up the season on June 2 alongside the OM’s musicians, under the direction of Yannick Nézet-Séguin, singing Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 2, “Lobgesang.”

Over the years, the Choir has performed with many internationally renowned singers, including Diana Damrau, Renée Fleming, Karina Gauvin, Maria Guleghina, Marc Hervieux, Hiromi Omura, Henriette Schellenberg, Bryn Terfel, Julie Boulianne, Heidi Melton, Andrew Foster-Williams, Karen Cargill and other great voices from here and elsewhere.

In addition to its work with the Orchestre, the Chœur Métropolitain began organizing its own Opus series of concerts several years ago, under the direction of Pierre Tourville and François A. Ouimet, at which it has performed, among other works, Brahms’ Liebeslieder Walzer, Rossini’s Petite Messe solonnelle, Rachmaninoff’s All-Night Vigil, Duruflé and Fauré’s Requiems, and more recently, Britten’s Rejoice in the Lamb and Dvořák’s Mass in D major.

Board of Directors
Louis-Philippe Bourgeois
Élyse Mailloux
François Lafortune
Sarah Oumamass
Jacques Bédard
Rachel Leduc
Artistic Team
Artistic Director
Yannick Nézet-Séguin
Chorus Master
François A. Ouimet
Chorus Master
Pierre Tourville
Rehersal Pianist
Louise Pelletier
Choir members