Yannick Nézet-Séguin

Artistic Director and Principal Conductor of the Orchestre Métropolitain since 2000, Yannick Nézet-Séguin is one of the most sought-after conductors in the world. His career has led him to work with many of leading orchestras. He has been Music Director of the Philadelphia Orchestra since September 2012 and of the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, with which 2017-2018 will be his tenth and final season. As soon as September 2018, he will succeed James Levine as the third Music Director of the Metropolitan Opera, New York, where he has already begun working as Music Director Designate.

Maestro Nézet-Séguin is regularly invited to lead prestigious orchestras, including the Berlin Philharmonic, Vienna Philharmonic, Bayerischer Rundfunk Sinfonieorchester and Chamber Orchestra of Europe. His opera interpretations have been acclaimed in many of the world’s most famous houses, such as the Metropolitan Opera (New York), the Salzburg Festival, La Scala (Milan) and the Royal Opera House (London) as well as in such renowned concert halls as the Musikverein (Vienna), the Concertgebouw (Amsterdam) and Carnegie Hall (New York).

Yannick Nézet-Séguin has made recordings with several orchestras for the famous yellow Deutsche Grammophon label while continuing his role in the collaborative partnership between ATMA Classique and the Orchestre Métropolitain. His honours include Artist of the Year by the prestigious magazine Musical America, a Royal Philharmonic Society Award (RPS, London), Canada’s National Arts Centre Award (Ottawa), the Prix Denise-Pelletier, awarded by the Quebec government, the Medal of Honor of the National Assembly of Quebec and, recently, the Oskar Morawetz Award.

He has received five honorary doctorates (Université du Québec à Montréal, 2011; Curtis Institute of Music, Philadelphia, 2014; Rider University, Princeton, 2015; McGill University, Montreal, 2017, Université de Montréal, 2017) and has been made a Companion of the Order of Canada (2012), Companion of the Quebec Order for the Arts and Literature (2015), Officer of the National Order of Quebec (2015) and Officer of the Ordre de Montréal (2017).